Frontend Mentor

Frequently Asked Questions

If you’ve got a question, there’s a good chance we’ve answered it below. Take a look and if you still need help, get in touch, and we’ll happily help you out!

Account / Billing

How does the free trial work?

You can join the Frontend Mentor Hiring platform for free without the need to add any credit card details. This starts our 7-day free trial, where you’ll be limited to 5 candidate search results per search and 10 candidate messages. You can choose to upgrade if you feel it’s a good fit for you.

How do I upgrade/downgrade my plan?

If you would like to upgrade or downgrade your plan, please email us at hi@frontendmentor.io. Upgrades can be processed either immediately or scheduled for when your subscription is due for renewal. Downgrade can be scheduled for when your subscription is due for renewal.

Does the subscription auto-renew?

Our subscriptions do auto-renew at the end of their term. You can easily manage your subscription by going to Settings > Billing. We send you an email reminder a few days before your subscription to ensure you don’t get caught out.

Do you offer refunds?

We offer a 14-day money back guarantee the first time you subscribe. If you’re unhappy with your purchase for any reason, please contact us at hi@frontendmentor.io.

How do I cancel my subscription?

You can manage your subscription by going to Settings > Billing. From there, you can schedule your subscription for cancellation to ensure it doesn’t renew.

What happens when my subscription expires?

When your subscription expires, your message credits reset to zero. So please be sure to use any remaining message credits before the cancellation date. Without an active subscription, you also won’t be able to do any new searches.

What happens if my payment fails?

If an attempt to renew your subscription fails, we’ll notify you by email and attempt to take payment three more times over the following nine days. We’ll send emails after every failed attempt. If all attempts fail, we will cancel your subscription at the end of the 9-day retry period.

Team

Can I invite the rest of my hiring team to collaborate with me?

Yes! Our Scaleup and Business tiers allow for multiple team members who can all conduct searches and message prospective candidates.

Can I transfer ownership of the team to another member?

Yes, you can transfer ownership by going to Settings > Team. Any team can only have a single Owner. If you’re the Owner and want to remove yourself from your team, you must transfer ownership before leaving.

What are the roles within a team, and what do they do?

We have two roles: Owner and Member.

Each team can only have one owner. The Owner can:

  • Search for developers
  • Message prospective candidates
  • Invite/Remove team members
  • Manage the subscription
  • View billing history

Members can search for developers and message prospective candidates but can’t manage the team or subscription or view the billing history.

Message credits

How do message credits work?

You use up a message credit whenever you send an initial message to a developer through the app. For now, the initial message sends an email to the developer, who can then reply to you if the opportunity interests them. All communication after the initial introduction will be via email. We have plans to add in-app direct messaging in the future.

What happens when I run out of credits?

If you use up all of your credits, you can either upgrade to a higher tier or wait for them to refresh the following month. Credits refresh each month; they don’t accrue. So it’s best to use up your monthly allowance whenever you can.

Didn't find an answer to your question?

Contact us at hi@frontendmentor.io and we’ll get back to you as soon as we can. Heads up that reply times are usually slower over the weekend.